This Month’s Diet – Game On!

Kyle and I got married last June before we moved out to Dubai, we had a small wedding ceremony with just our families. We are having our big wedding this coming June, in only five months!!! I bought my wedding dress before I came out here, and when I went back in December it didn’t fit! So now its time to lose a few extra pounds so I’m in the best shape ever for the wedding. For those of you who don’t know I used to be a group fitness instructor and “worked” in a gym every day (I really just worked out for most of my shift). I also organized lots of group fitness events like triathlons, races and helped with health fairs in college.

I’m always looking for better ways to stay fit and for now I think I’ve found a great one! Kyle and I are competing in the “Game On Diet” with some of our family and friends from home. Game On is a competitive diet where every one has to loose 1% of their body weight each week. Its been really hard to make the weight requirements while eating 5 meals a day. Having to make my goal has made me work out much harder than I would otherwise! I’m planning on continuing eating and exercising like this up to the wedding, but making my weight loss goal more like 1/2 lb. per week or less!

Here is a quick overview of what the food plan and the other requirements for the game, I posted some helpful links if anyone is interested!
5 meals a day – Each meal must include:
  • 1 palm sized portion of a lean protein
  • 1 fist sized portion of carbs or fruit
  • 1 thumb sized portion of something from the fats list (note butter and margarine are not on the list)

2 of your meals a day must include a serving equal to the size of two fists of vegetables.
You may also eat unlimited green vegetables with any meals

The only snack you can have outside of this meal structure is cucumbers and celery
You also get 100 free calories that you can use for whatever you want (condiments, butter, a piece of chocolate).
If you are using your 100 calories to have a treat (such as a bite of cake), in situations where you cannot find out the actual calories, is to assume that a portion the size of -your thumb is the equivalent to 100 calories (this is the strategy identified in the book for this diet/game)
Beyond the food you must sleep a minimum of 7 hours every night, drink 3 liters of water, exercise at least 20 minutes a day, communicate with your team and opponents every, and add a good habit and take away one bad habit.  You get one cheat day and one cheat meal every week and the game goes on for 4 weeks.
Here are some links with all the info you need for the Game On Diet if you want to start a game of your own!
Leave a Reply

