Tapping

I’ve been following Kris Carr’s blog for the past few months, she is a New York Times best-selling author, wellness activist and cancer thriver. Her blog and recipes keep me inspired to eat clean, healthy, organic meals and to drink green juice!

Kris Carr posted about stress reduction and physical healing techniques — Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT or just Tapping) the other day on her blog and I thought I would give it a try. It looks so silly but saying affirming things to my self and relaxing a little bit can’t hurt!

My goal in the tapping exercise is to get a hold of my food cravings and eating problems. I would never do this in public but when I’m home alone and trying as hard as I can to not eat another spoon of peanut butter or that chocolate bar I hid away I think this might be a good way for me to slow down and think about what I’m doing to my body by over eating, mindless snacking, junk food etc. So instead of saying “this anxiety” like they do in the video, I repeat “this sugar craving” or “this eating problem” and I focus on the craving and how it makes me feel then try to let it go.

“Why is it called “Tapping”? Because with EFT you literally tap on acupressure points (your body’s meridian points) while saying simple affirmations and focusing on a particular negative emotion, trauma, addiction or event (the list of possibilities goes on and on). This powerful combination of ancient Chinese medicine, modern psychology and positive reprogramming is changing lives every day by helping people resolve and finally move past their greatest mental and physical blocks.” – Kris Carr

Check out the video, and remember it looks weird and feels pretty silly to be sitting in my living room tapping my face, but it might help!

Leave a Reply

