Mexican Casserole

Last night was Mexican night at the Hartley-Waring household. I LOVE Mexican foods, and since recently changing my diet to vegetarian (and mostly vegan) I have come to rely on home made salsa, guacamole and beans to add flavor and nutrition to pretty much any meal. I will post my salsa recipe later this week! I have recently moved back from Dubai and am staying at my parents house while we look for a place to live. This means even less cooking than before because I’m always out/traveling and share a kitchen with 5 people! So last night my mom was making a healthy Mexican dish with lots of cheese and meat and I just adapted her recipe to use all my favorite vegan, gluten free foods!

IMG_0507

This took me about 5 minutes to prep then I baked it for about 20 minutes, but it really only needs to be warmed if your in a rush! Most of these ingredients are so easy to keep in your pantry for a last minute healthy dinner.

Mexican Casserole:

Ingredients:

1/2 Red onion diced,

1 tbs Garlic

1 tbs Cumin

1tbs Chili Powder

1 Can of stewed tomatoes (you could use raw I just didn’t have any left!)

1Tsp Olive Oil

1 Zucchini cut in to slices

1 Tortilla wrap

1 Can of black beans

fresh cilantro

3-4 Gluten free corn based tortilla wraps

3 Slices of vegan rice cheese

4-5 Tbs Tofutti vegan cream cheese to help it taste creamy!

1 Cup of Salsa

1/2 of an Avacado

 

Directions:

Saute in a small pan over high heat for a couple minutes:

1/2 Red onion diced, 1 tbs Garlic, 1 tbs Cumin, 1tbs Chili Powder

Add in:

1 Can of stewed tomatoes

Let that cook a few more minutes Then layer the rest of the ingredients in to a pie plate or casserole dish

Layer:

Dash of Olive Oil

1 Tortilla wrap

some of the stewed tomato mixture

a hand full of black beans

Zucchini slices

fresh cilantro

A slice or two of vegan rice cheese

Salsa

On the next couple tortilla’s spread some Tofutti vegan cream cheese to keep it creamy!

then repeat until you use up all the ingredients

 

Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes

Serve with some fresh cilantro, some avocado slices and a salad.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

